WE AIR HERE!
The Online Alternative on International Roma Day!

The WE ARE HERE! Roma Biennale had to be postponed, but ROMADAY is still happening! On April 8th we're celebrating International Roma Day and providing a sneak peek at the second self-organised art biennial by and with Roma and BIPOC artists, now scheduled for the late summer. Broadcasting on a video livestream, curator Hamze Bytyçi drives through the unwritten city map of the Roma and Sinti in Berlin – in the unique Biennale truck, designed by artist and author Damian James Le Bas and developed by raumlabor Berlin! Out and about in the capital at a standstill, he meets with representatives from the public sphere, culture and politics, chatting with them, for example, about the locations visited, which are significant for the history or the present of the Roma and Sinti in Berlin.

At the same time, curator Delaine Le Bas is in the virtual studio to discuss dominant topics in the times of Corona from an international and intersectional perspective, together with activists, comrades and everyday experts. What do the novel risks and measures mean for marginalised people? Questions of »we« are more urgent than ever, because the old certainties of capitalist normativity are beginning to falter. Does that present a threat or an opportunity?

Streamed live from the WE AIR HERE! Studio – or as if it was!

WE AIR HERE! WE AIR HERE! – ROMADAY 2020 / April 8th, 2020 / From 4 to 6 p.m.
At: www.facebook.com/RomadayEveryday

The Programme

Presented by
Delaine Le Bas, Artist and Curator / Hamze Bytyçi, Member of the Ensemble and Curator

With contributions by
Maria Atanasova, Young European of the Year 2020/ Idil Nuna Baydar, Comedian and Actress/ Elke Breitenbach, Berlin Senator for Integration, Work and Social/ Meral El, Managing Director neue deutsche organisationen e.V. / Romeo Franz, Member of the European Parliament/ Kristóf Horváth, Actor and Poetry slammer/ Damian James Le Bas, Author and Artist/ Klaus Lederer, Berlin Senator for Culture and Europe/ Uwe Neumärker, Director of Stiftung Denkmal/ Katina Schubert, Chairwoman of Berliner LINKE

With music by
Dragan Cordes, Guitarist and Composer/ Sunny Franz, Violinist / Lindy Larsson, Singer and Actor / Riah May Knight, Singer and Songwriter/ *Daniel Weltlinger**, Jazz Musician and Composer

Followed by an online stream of ROMA ARMEE from 6 p.m.!

1st April 2020

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

POSTPONED: The 2nd Roma Biennale, WE ARE HERE!, has been postponed to August/September 2020 for the time being

Originally planned for April 8th – May 16th, 2020, the 2nd Roma Biennale, held under the title WE ARE HERE!, has been postponed to August/September 2020 for the time being. The biennale’s curators, Delaine Le Bas and Hamze Bytyçi, are heeding Berlin Senator for Culture and Europe Klaus Lederer's recommendation for theatres to cancel all public events from March 12th. The reason for these cancellations is to curb the spread of the coronavirus, protect the health-care system from severe strain and, in particular, to protect the elderly and other vulnerable people from being infected.

The 2nd self-organised biennale by and with circa 50 Roma and BIPOC artists from around the world was originally supposed to start on April 8th, 2020, International Roma Day. Through its expansive, always site-specific programme of interventions, exhibitions and a parade, of concerts, performances, lectures and city tours, the biennale aims to draft an unwritten city map of the Sinti and Roma in Berlin.

Depending on how the spread of the coronavirus continues to develop, we're planning to produce the full programme in the late summer. Up-to-date information will be published here as soon as possible.
16 March 2020

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Roma occupying Berlin: WE ARE HERE! The 2nd self-organised Roma Biennial draws an unwritten map of the Roma and Sinti in Berlin from 8 April to 16 May 2020

The second Biennial by and with international artists, both with Romani and BIPoC backgrounds, kicks-off with the motto “WE ARE HERE!” on 8 April 2020, the International Roma Day, joining the worldwide emancipatory movement of the Roma and Sinti.

After the success of the 1st Roma Biennial, having consistently sold out events over four days in April 2018, the 2nd Roma Biennale seeks to leave the safe space of established art institutions and conquer Berlin’s urban space over the course of six weeks. »WE ARE HERE!« draws an unwritten map of the Sinti and Roma in Berlin with an extensive, always site-specific program of interventions, exhibitions and ROMADAY parade, of concerts, performances, lectures and city tours. With a mobile unit developed by raumlabor Berlin, internationally successful artists* such as Barby Assante, Iva Bittová, Ethel Brooks, Krzysztof Gil, Wesley Goatley, Damian James Le Bas or Emília Rigová mark places that are essential for the past and present to the Roma and Sinti in Berlin. These include the Johann Trollmann Boxcamp, Otto-Rosenberg-Platz, Görlitzer Park, Maxim Gorki Theater, Collegium Hungaricum Berlin and the Memorial to the Sinti and Roma of Europe murdered under National Socialism.

In the city where the genocide of Sinti and Roma was once planned and organized, where even in 2019 people were still victims of antiziganistic hate speech and crimes involving weapons, they confidently show their multi-layered identities, confront Berliners with deep-seated stereotypes and provoke with strategies of survival.

The aim is to bring about a permanent change of perspective of the heterogeneous minority of Sinti and Roma, to create solidarity among marginalized people and to show that Roma and Sinti are often an invisible yet active part of society and urban space.

The detailed festival programme will soon be published at this website.

Curated by Delaine Le Bas, Hamze Bytyçi | Initiated by Damian Le Bas | Conceptualized in cooperation with Antje Weitzel

A project of RomaTrial e.V. in cooperation with the Maxim Gorki Theater, Allianz Kulturstiftung, the Alliance for Solidarity with the Sinti and Roma of Europe, the Collegium Hungaricum Berlin, the Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg Museum and raumlabor berlin.

Funded by LOTTO-Stiftung Berlin. Media partner is RBB Kultur.

WE AIR HERE!
Die Online-Alternative am Internationalen Tag der Roma

Die Roma-Biennale WE ARE HERE! muss verschoben werden, aber der ROMADAY findet statt! Am 8. April feiern wir den Internationalen Tag der Roma und liefern einen Vorgeschmack der nun für den Spätsommer geplanten zweiten selbstorganisierten Kunst-Biennale von und mit Roma- und BIPOC- Künstler*innen. In einem Live-Video-Stream fährt der Kurator Hamze Bytyçi die ungeschriebene Stadtkarte der Roma und Sinti in Berlin ab – mit dem einzigartigen Biennale-Truck, gestaltet vom Künstler und Autor Damian James Le Bas und entwickelt von raumlabor Berlin! Unterwegs in der stillstehenden Hauptstadt trifft er Persönlichkeiten aus Kultur, Politik und Öffentlichkeit und kommt mit ihnen ins Gespräch, etwa über die besuchten Orte, die für die Geschichte oder Gegenwart der Roma und Sinti in Berlin wichtig sind.

Zugleich tauscht sich die Kuratorin Delaine Le Bas aus dem virtuellen Studio mit Aktivist*innen, Mitstreiter*innen und Expert*innen des Alltags über die hochaktuellen Themen in Zeiten von Corona aus einer internationalen und intersektionalen Perspektive aus. Was bedeuten die neuartigen Risiken und Maßnahmen für marginalisierte Menschen? Die Fragen nach dem »Wir« werden dringender denn je, die alten Selbstverständlichkeiten der kapitalistischen Normativität geraten ins Wanken. Ist das eine Gefahr oder eine Chance?

Live gestreamt aus dem WE AIR HERE!-Studio – oder so, als ob!

WE AIR HERE! WE AIR HERE! – ROMADAY 2020 / 8. April 2020 / Von 16 bis 18 Uhr
Unter: www.facebook.com/RomadayEveryday

Das Programm

Moderiert von
Delaine Le Bas, Künstlerin und Kuratorin / Hamze Bytyçi, Ensemble-Mitglied und Kurator

Mit Beiträgen von
Maria Atanasova, Junge Europäerin des Jahres 2020 / Idil Nuna Baydar, Comedienne und Schauspielerin / Elke Breitenbach, Berliner Senatorin für Integration, Arbeit und Soziales / Meral El, Geschäftsführerin der neuen deutschen Organisationen / Romeo Franz, Mitglied des Europäischen Parlaments / Kristóf Horváth, Schauspieler und Poetryslammer / Damian James Le Bas, Autor und Künstler / Klaus Lederer, Berliner Senator für Kultur und Europa / Uwe Neumärker, Direktor der Stiftung Denkmal / Katina Schubert, Vorsitzende der Berliner LINKE

Mit Musik von
Dragan Cordes, Gitarrist und Komponist / Sunny Franz, Violinist / Lindy Larsson, Sänger und Schauspieler / Riah May Knight, Sängerin und Songwriterin / Daniel Weltlinger, Jazzmusiker und Komponist

Im Anschluss Streaming der ROMA ARMEE ab 18 Uhr!

1. April 2020

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

VERSCHOBEN: Die 2. Roma-Biennale WE ARE HERE! wird voraussichtlich auf August/September 2020 verschoben

Die für den 8. April – 16. Mai 2020 geplante 2. Roma-Biennale mit dem Titel WE ARE HERE! wird voraussichtlich auf den Zeitraum von August/September 2020 verlegt. Die Kurator*innen Delaine Le Bas und Hamze Bytyçi schließen sich damit der Empfehlung des Senators für Kultur und Europa, Dr. Klaus Lederer, vom 12. März 2020 an, den Spielbetrieb vor Publikum vorerst vollständig einzustellen. Das Anliegen ist dabei, die Verbreitung des Corona-Virus zu verlangsamen, das Gesundheitssystem vor massiven Belastungen zu bewahren und insbesondere ältere und gefährdete Menschen vor Ansteckung zu schützen.

Die zweite selbstorganisierte Biennale von und mit rund 50 internationalen Künstler*innen mit Roma- und BIPoC-Hintergrund sollte ursprünglich am 8. April 2020, dem internationalen Tag der Roma, starten. Mit einem umfangreichen, stets ortsbezogenen Programm aus Interventionen, Ausstellungen und Parade, aus Konzerten, Performances, Vorträgen und Stadtrundgängen will die Biennale eine ungeschriebene Stadtkarte der Sinti und Roma in Berlin aufzeichnen.

Abhängig von der weiteren Entwicklung der Corona-Virus-Verbreitung soll das Programm im vollen Umfang im Spätsommer durchgeführt werden. Aktuelle Informationen werden hier so bald wie möglich veröffentlicht.

16. März 2020

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Roma erobern Berlin: WE ARE HERE! Die 2. selbstorganisierte Roma Biennale zeichnet vom 8. April bis 16. Mai 2020 eine ungeschriebene Stadtkarte der Roma und Sinti in Berlin

Die zweite selbstorganisierte Biennale von und mit internationalen Künstler*innen mit Romno- und BIPoC-Hintergrund startet unter dem Titel WE ARE HERE! am 8. April 2020, dem internationalen Tag der Roma und schließt damit an den Beginn der weltweiten emanzipatorischen Bewegung der Roma und Sinti an.

Nach dem großen Erfolg der 1. Roma Biennale mit durchweg ausverkauften Veranstaltungen an den vier Biennale-Tagen im April 2018 verlässt die 2. Roma Biennale den sicheren Raum etablierter Kunstinstitutionen und erobert über sechs Wochen lang den Berliner Stadtraum. WE ARE HERE! zeichnet mit einem umfangreichen, stets ortsbezogenen Programm aus Interventionen, Ausstellungen und ROMADAY-Parade, aus Konzerten, Performances, Vorträgen und Stadtrundgängen eine ungeschriebene Stadtkarte der Sinti und Roma in Berlin. Mit einer von raumlabor Berlin entwickelten mobilen Einheit markieren international erfolgreiche Künstler*innen wie Barby Assante, Iva Bittová, Ethel Brooks, Krzysztof Gil, Wesley Goatley, Damian James Le Bas oder Emília Rigová Orte, die für Geschichte und Gegenwart der Roma und Sinti in Berlin essentiell sind. Solche sind etwa das Johann-Trollmann-Boxcamp, der Otto-Rosenberg-Platz, der Görlitzer Park, das Maxim Gorki Theater, das Collegium Hungaricum Berlin oder das Denkmal für die im Nationalsozialismus ermordeten Sinti und Roma Europas.

In der Stadt, von der aus einst der Völkermord an Sinti und Roma geplant und organisiert wurde und in der auch 2019 noch Menschen antiziganistisch beschimpft und mit Waffen angegriffen wurden, zeigen sie selbstbewusst ihre vielschichtigen Identitäten, konfrontieren die Berliner*innen mit tief sitzenden Stereotypen und provozieren mit Strategien des Überlebens.

Ziel ist es, einen dauerhaften Perspektivwechsel auf die heterogene Minderheit der Sinti und Roma herbeizuführen, Solidarität unter marginalisierten Menschen zu erzeugen, und zu zeigen, dass Roma und Sinti oft ein unsichtbarer, dennoch aktiver Teil der Gesellschaft und des Stadtraums sind.

Das detaillierte Festivalprogramm wird bald auf dieser Website veröffentlicht.

Kuratiert von Delaine Le Bas, Hamze Bytyçi | Initiiert von Damian Le Bas | Konzipiert in Zusammenarbeit mit Antje Weitzel

Die 2. Roma Biennale WE ARE HERE! ist ein Projekt von RomaTrial e.V. in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Maxim Gorki Theater, der Allianz Kulturstiftung, dem Bündnis für Solidarität mit den Sinti und Roma Europas, dem Collegium Hungaricum Berlin, dem FHXB Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg Museum und raumlabor Berlin. Gefördert durch die LOTTO-Stiftung Berlin. Medienpartner ist der RBB Kultur.